On Tuesday night I had Shane Lattie and Jared Wolterstorff meet me at my film location to practice lighting set-ups. We met around 9 p.m. and mainly worked on lighting the opening scene when the camera enters the restaurant and travels up to the host stand. It is here that we see Chris, the host, on the telephone. The entry way to the restaurant has very low lighting at this time of night and we knew that we would have our work cut out for us. I brought a long a small ARRI light kit and two Tota lights, little did we know that it would not be enough. In an hour and a half all accomplished was figuring out the lighting set-up for the opening scene! That scares me but we decided that going to location two more times and we should have all of the lighting set-ups nailed down. After we figured out to the light the host stand we made a rough drawing so that we are able to remember where and how to set everything up. The next thing that came up in discussion was whether Jack is still going to leave out the front doors or out the patio door. Deciding that when it comes time to filming, I am going to cheat having Jack leave out the front door and have him exit out the patio door where the Dad will follow him. When we stepped out to the patio we walked around and tried to map out exactly where the dad will be standing when he throws the change at Jack. I am going to have an ARRI light set up out there with a blue gel on it to try and create a little bit more of a subtle moonlit effect.

The next time we are going to meet is next Wednesday night and try to figure out how to light the corner booth where Jack is serving the family that he gets into a confrontation with. It is going to be one the hardest set ups of my film to figure out because there is a brick wall behind the booth. Shane, Jared and I are going to have to figure out how to light the table without getting the lights in the shot. I am still wanting to shoot as continuously as possible, only cutting when I absolutely have to. Once we figure this set up out, the rest of the booths will be a piece of cake. Next time I am going to come prepared with as many lights and stands as possible. I will post an example of the lighting set up for the host stand so you all can get a feel for what I am talking about